Results – Tuesday 31st October 2017

Midweek Men

Don’t worry about spring, it’s mid summer in Waikanae. 64 men turned out for a round of Canadian foursomes, a MWM Singles Cup semi final (Graeme Wallis will now play Kevin Woodley in the final some day soon) and a Singles Plate final. Congratulations to Barry Carr who won the plate final.

We had a random draw in the Foursomes which was won by Warren Sutton and Doug Stevens with a net of 64. Allan Chisholm and George Forbes were second on net 66. Cut  off score for table prizes was net 72 on count back.

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No 14 nearest pin, Gordon Hall; No13 1st cone, John Peters; 2nd cone, Mark France; 3rd cone John Plimmer; No 8 nearest pin, Jim Lynch.

-Andy Provan


Results – Sunday 29th October 2017

Club Champ Finalists

After all the qualifying, quarters, and semis – the finalists have been found:

Open: G. Coutts vs R. Cooper

Intermediate: P. Carthew vs A. Walding

Junior: N. Ray vs P. Knight

Vets: G. Fairweather vs G. Waterhouse

Congratulations to all the finalists and the best of luck for next Sunday, the 5th November.


Club Champs Update

Players can play their quarter-finals any time up to, and including, the 29th October.

The semi-finals are to be played on the 29th; the finals on the 5th November.

This means that if you do play your quarter on the 29th , and win, you will need to play the semi in the afternoon session.


Evergreens Golf – 28th September 2017

Match played on 28th September at Ohariu Valley against Trentham.

This was not one of the team’s best results.  We scored only 3 points from a possible total of 15. This saw Waikanae drop from 2nd place to 4th after the completion of the round robin series. We miss out on playing in the semi final and instead go straight into the plate event.

Only singles winner on the day was Terry Jones with Peter Cresswell halving his match. Wayne Patrick and Terry Jones were the only winning pairs with Jim Lynch and Graeme Wallis halving their pairs match.

Best Stapleford scores were Graeme Wallis and Wayne Patrick, both on 36 and Allan Chisholm and Peter Cresswell, both on 34 points.

-Bernie Shiell


Results – Thursday 28th September 2017

Midweek Men

Today was our biannual, day after coring, Ambrose competition. 26 MWM arrived on another beautiful Waikanae spring day. (Now 2 in a row).

The winning team was that of Warren Sutton, Steve Ricketts & George Forbes with a net 57. Second was the team of Kevin Win, Les Buckley, Barry Carr and Michael Rodgers on net 59.

Dot golf gave us interesting results by getting a course handicap by multiplying the normal Ambrose handicap by a factor of 16. The net score was obtained by subtracting this number from the team gross score to give results varying from -85 to -179. We did not use these figures.

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No14 nearest pin, Barry Carr; No13 1st cone, Peter Mason, 2nd cone, Trevor Tildesly; 3rd cone Les Buckley.

-Andy Provan


Results – Wednesday 20th September 2017

Wednesday Women

Another sunny Wednesday and hopefully they will soon be common rather than noteworthy! Twenty nine ladies played and all enjoyed the conditions and the fact that there is now some semblance of run on the fairways.

Event:  Stableford,  6th Vets (Net)

Winner:          Steph Drinnan     40pts c/b   (69 net)

Runner-Up:   Angela Lee   40 pts  (69 net)

Third:             Robyn Donaghy   39 pts  (70 net)

Fourth:          Ngaire Cheevers    36 pts  (74 net)

Fifth:              Libby Hobson    35 pts   (75 net)

Nearest the Pin:    Irene Dick

-Rae Henderson


Results – Tuesday 19th September 2017

Midweek Men

On the first glorious Waikanae morning for some time 57 men participated in the Bob Penney trophy which also served as the qualifying round for the MWM Singles Cup.

All who entered the Singles and finished (31) qualified. The draw will be posted on the MWM notice board tomorrow. The days winner and new Bob Penney trophy holder was Terry Jones with net 66. Terry is also rewarded with the only bye in the first round of the Singles match play to be played on or before October the 3rd. The runner up was Peter Fogarty with 67 net.

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No 9 hole nearest pin 2nd shot, Paul Aitken; No14 nearest pin, Graeme Wallis; No 16 nearest pin 2nd shot Graeme Wallis; No13 1st cone, Peter Cresswell; 2nd cone, Peter Fogarty; 3rd cone Mr Too Far Into Southerly.

-Andy Provan


Results – Wednesday 13th September 2017

Wednesday Women

Sunshine greeted 28 ladies for our Wednesday competition, and the standard of golf matched the weather with some excellent scores recorded.

Event:   Stableford, LGU, Putting

Winner:         Steph Drinnan    43 pts (66 net)

Runner-Up:   Ngaire Cheevers  42 pts  (67 net)

Third:            Judy Launder   40 pts  (69 net)

Fourth:          Irene Dick   38 pts c/b  (71 net)

Fifth:              Marg Cooke  38 pts

Nearest the Pin:    Alison Miller

Putting:     Heather Verry  26 putts

-Rae Henderson


Results – Tuesday 12th September 2017

Midweek Men

Unlike yesterday, today was a beautiful Waikanae spring day. So much so that 57 turned out to be confounded or pleasantly surprised by the performance of their hidden partners in a pairs stableford competition. We welcomed 2 new members, Glen Miller & Josh Mooney.

The winning team was that of James Woon (44) & Laurie Flynn (34). Second were Jim Lynch (39) & Tony Parrett (37).

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No 9 hole nearest pin 2nd shot, James Woon; No14 nearest pin, Rod Cavaye; No 16 nearest pin 2nd shot, George Forbes; No13 1st cone, George McLellan; 2nd cone, Jim Lynch; 3rd cone Grant Fairweather.

-Andy Provan


MWM host Kapiti Vets – 11th September 2017

Today Waikanae hosted Kapiti Vets for the usual stableford competition. The course had dried out somewhat from the weekend rain but the wind was cold at times. 13 locals hosted 17 visitors from PBGC, Kapiti, Judgeford & Otaki.

The winner was Andy Provan with a modest 39 points. Barry Wilkinson (PBGC) came second on 37 points.  The cut off score for table prizes was 31 points.

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No 9 hole nearest pin 2nd shot, Barry Wilkinson; No14 nearest pin, Steve Scott; No 16 nearest pin 2nd shot Andy Provan; No13 1st cone, Bernie Shiell; 2nd cone, Alan Bryant (PBGC); 3rd cone Peter Milne (PBGC).

No shop twos were scored but Oliver kindly ran a hidden hole comp (for shop two entrants only) and as a result Ron Chatters (Otaki) came into ownership of 6 golf balls.

-Andy Provan


Results – Tuesday 5th September 2017

Midweek Men

Round 11 of the MWM Winter Challenge (PDF) was played today in Par format. The course had improved considerably from last week evidenced by 4 of the 51 players scoring +3. 8 players tied for 5th place.

Today’s winner was Peter Cresswell on countback with Gary Story, George McLellan and Graeme Wallis tying for second place. The cut off score for table prizes was all square.

Last month’s co-leader in the Winter Challenge, Kevin Win, could not add to his points tally today and was overtaken by Denys Wright who finished the day 5th equal on +2 and gained 16 Winter Challenge points to move up to a best of 5 rounds total of 80 points. Congratulations Denys.

Kevin had enough points to still finish 2nd on 73 points with John Plimmer 3rd on 72 points.

Novelty prizes for the day were as follows: No 9 hole nearest pin 2nd shot, Graeme Wallis; No14 nearest pin, Graeme Wallis; No 16 nearest pin 2nd shot John Plimmer; No13 1st cone, John Peters; 2nd cone, Peter Fogarty; 3rd cone Paul Selwyn. Welcome to mid week men, Paul.

-Andy Provan